Partners, Health Trusts and the N.I. Hospice

There are Arts Care Committees attached to Health Trusts all over Northern Ireland. Each committee works in close partnership with the Belfast office and comprises members of the clinical, managerial, administrative and Estates Services, Health Trust staff as well as local arts enthusiasts.

There is also patient representation on some of the committees and all members sit voluntarily. Artists-in-Residence are attached to the 5 Health & Social Care Trusts and work in various settings in these Trust areas so that the people who make decisions about the art provision are the people who will ‘live’ with the art.

Arts Care also engages project artists who work on a project to project basis and these artists also work to the local Arts Care Committee. The Artists-in-Residence work very closely with these committees in deciding what projects to undertake and consult with staff and patients to finalise concepts and themes.

Belfast Health and Social Care Trust Committees

Belfast City Hospital - Please click here for more information
Chairperson – Dr Robert Cuthbert
Artist-in-Residence – Andrea Spencer

Knockbracken Healthcare Park Arts Care Group
Chairperson – Sandra McCarry
Artists-in-Residence – Brendan Popplestone; Helen Shields

Musgrave Park Hospital
Chairperson – Dr Roger Hamill
Artist-in-Residence – Cheryl Bleakley

Muckamore Abbey and North & West Belfast area
Chairperson – Margaret Dunlop
Artist-in-Residence – Frank Holmes

Mater Hospital
Chairperson – Trish Keogh-Hodgett (Acting)
Artist-in-Residence – Patricia Lavery

Royal Group of Hospitals
No Arts Care Committee
Northern Ireland ClownDoctors visit Royal Hospital for Sick Children

Northern Health and Social Care Trust Committees

Causeway Hospital
Chairperson – Nuala Cassidy

Antrim Hospital
Chairperson – Jonathan Lyttle
Artist-in-Residence – Helen Bradbury

Holywell Hospital
Chairperson – Joy Hammond
Artist-in-Residence – Ciara O’Malley

Southern Health and Social Care Trust Committees

Newry & Mourne area
Chairperson – Marian Cully E:
Secretary: – Eilish Kilgallon E:
Artist-in-Residence – Gwen Stevenson E:

Armagh & Dungannon area
Chairperson – Mary Connolly
Artist-in-Residence – Eddie Rafferty

Banbridge & Craigavon area
Chairperson – Edel Bennett
Artist-in-Residence – Jill McKeown

South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust Committees

Down Lisburn area
Chairperson – TBA
Artist-in-Residence – Colin McGookin

Ulster Hospital
Chairperson – Darren Bradshaw
Artist-in-Residence – Ned J Smyth

Western Health and Social Care Trust Committees

Foyle/Altnagelvin area
Chairperson – Judy Houlahan
Artist-in-Residence – Bronagh Corr-McNicholl

Northern Ireland Hospice Committees

Northern Ireland Childrens Hospice

Chairperson – Helen Chambers
Artist-in-Residence – Clare McComish